Top Ten Tuesday – Rewind

I’ve been a bit of a slacker at blogging these past few weeks. My initial excitement and momentum from starting this blog is wearing off a little and I’m having to put a bit more thought and effort into it. Not that I’m not enjoying it, I’m just trying to find my groove, my routine now, rather than just excited blogging. Not to mention the Olympics has started, and as I mentioned in this post I’m a little bit obsessed with the Olympics. So I’m sticking with my Top Ten Tuesday post. Top Ten Tuesday is a link-up hosted over at the Broke and the Bookish and the theme for this week is *Rewind*, you can pick any previous weekly theme that you didn’t participate in.  That gives me a lot of options as I’ve just started participating. I’ve decided to go all the way back and pick the first one on the list, my Top Ten childhood favourites, because who doesn’t love to talk about the things we loved as kids.

1.Alanna – Tamora Pierce  I was obsessed with these books when I was younger and I think I read all of the Tamora Pierce books that came out (while I was a kid/teenager…). I was a tomboy when was I was younger so a story about a girl disguising as a boy to become a knight, right up my alley. Funny enough, I re-read this book recently and I remember finding it a bit racy when I was younger, but of course as an adult it seems rather tame now.

2. Golden Compass – Philip Pullman This is the first book I have a  memory of reading that I was really blown away by. Not just in a really attached to the story way, but in a ‘wow I did not know books could be this good’, kind of way. I read the full series and of course saw the movie when it came out, but was a bit disappointed in that.

91ucIYlekNL._SL1500_

3. Archie Comics – Not really a book, but I was obsessed with these comics when I was a kid/pre-teen. I would beg my parents to buy me one whenever we went to the grocery store. I inherited about a hundred of them from one of my older cousins and it was like five birthdays rolled into one.

4. Harry Potter – JK Rowling No surprise here, I imagine many people would put these books on their list of childhood favourites. I was around 9 or 10 when the first book came out and was hooked from the get-go.

5. The Sky is Falling – Kit Pearson I’m not sure if this book was only successful in Canada but I still have a very strong memories of this story of two young kids who were evacuated from England to Canada during World War II. The feisty protagonist resonated with me and the story was very powerful.

6. The Mists of Avalon – Marion Zimmer Bradley This book is more into the teenage years since I read it for a book report in tenth grade English but it’s another book I have very distinct memories of. It was my first real fantasy novel and it seemed impossibly long at first, but once I got going I flew through the pages.

7. Sweet Valley High books – Francine Pascal I don’t think I could name any of the plot-lines in any of these books but I definitely read a lot of them. These books combined with the Olsen twins left a deep desire to have a twin.

cvr9780689840920_9780689840920_hr

8. Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging – Louise Rennison This was another fun book series I remember from my pre-teen years. The sassy narrator combined with the exotic British-isms made this series very addictive.

9. The Indian in the Cupboard – Lynne Reid Banks Apparently I was reading quite a bit of fantasy when I was a kid, I never really realized that. I’m sure this book would not be very politically correct now, but I loved it when I was young. I think I liked the movie too.

10. The Hatchet – Gary Paulsen This book is an amazing tale of survival and adventure with a thirteen year old boy being stranded in the woods after a plane crash. There are constant trials and challenges to be faced by the main character, this book is definitely not lacking in action.

So there you have it, the books I remember most vividly from childhood. What are your childhood favourites that you have great memories of?

 

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Rewind

  1. Melissa Lee says:

    You listed some great books here. I was (still am) a big fan of Kit Pearson growing up. Have you read the other books in that trilogy? Looking at the Moon and The Lights Go On Again. I still have my bind up of the three The Guests of War.

    Like

  2. Shauna says:

    I loved the Golden Compass but hated the next book. It was so disappointing because at the end of book 1, Pullman could have gone practically anywhere and it would have been interesting. But he chose the one place where it wasn’t. 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

